Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Since I recently turned 22, I’ve been rocking out to T.Swizzle’s “22,” but as I listened I began thinking more closely about the lyrics. Do they actually describe being 22? I’m not so sure…

It feels like a perfect night to dress up like hipsters
And make fun of our exes, ah ah, ah ah.
It feels like a perfect night for breakfast at midnight
To fall in love with strangers, ah ah, ah ah.
Ok, this first part was pretty accurate.
Yeah,
We’re happy, free, confused, and lonely at the same time
It’s miserable and magical, oh, yeah
Tonight’s the night when we forget about the deadlines
It’s time
Miserable and magical? Forget about the deadlines? Maybe T. Swift can, but I got bills coming up that need to get paid.Uh oh!
I don’t know about you
But I’m feeling 22
Everything will be alright
If you keep me next to you
You don’t know about me
But I’ll bet you want to
Everything will be alright
If we just keep dancing like we’re
22
22

Ok, I really like the line “You don’t know about me, but I’ll bet you want to.” I like to think this to myself at bars when guys don’t approach me. They’re nervous or something like that, right?

It seems like one of those nights,
This place is too crowded.
Too many cool kids, ah ah, ah ah (who’s Taylor Swift anyway, ew?)
It seems like one of those nights,
We ditch the whole scene and end up dreaming
Instead of sleeping.

I used to ditch the whole scene and end up dreaming in high school. At 22, I commiserate with friends at bars and in my parents’ living room after watching Bridesmaids (thanks Mess).

Yeah,
We’re happy, free, confused, and lonely in the best way
It’s miserable and magical, oh, yeah
Tonight’s the night when we forget about the heartbreaks
It’s time

Do any of those adjectives make sense? I really think she just strung a bunch of words together and went with it.

Uh oh! (hey!)
I don’t know about you
But I’m feeling 22
Everything will be alright
If you keep me next to you
You don’t know about me
But I’ll bet you want to
Everything will be alright (alright)
If we just keep dancing like we’re
22 (oh, oh, oh)
22
I don’t know about you
22
22

I’ve been 22 for four months, I’ve danced a lot, so this is true. And generally, when people don’t know about me, I bet that they want to. I’m awesome.

It feels like one of those nights,
We ditch the whole scene.
It feels like one of those nights,
We won’t be sleeping.
It feels like one of those nights,
You look like bad news,
I gotta have you,
I gotta have you.

I think she’s left her friends at this point. Get some, T. Swift!

Oh oh yeah hey!
I don’t know about you
But I’m feeling 22
Everything will be alright
If you keep me next to you
You don’t know about me (you don’t know about me)
But I’ll bet you want to
Everything will be alright
If we just keep dancing like we’re
22
22
22, yeah, yeah
22, yeah, yeah, yeah

T. Swizzles’s ability to get a boyfriend will never cease to amaze me. Like, guys, you know you’re going to end up in a song, why are you doing this to yourself?

It feels like one of those nights,
We ditch the whole scene
It feels like one of those nights,
We won’t be sleeping
It feels like one of those nights,
You look like bad news,
I gotta have you,
I gotta have you.

All in all, not a bad song. Maybe I’m too soon into 22 to really know what it feels like…

This weekend, I go to DC to look at apartments. If you looked at my earlier blog post, I mentioned that I would be meeting some girls to look at their apartment and possibly rent with them. Wellllll, as it turns out, they met someone in a bar and offered the room to her which is great for bar girl, not so great for me. However, the good thing about DC is that there is always an apartment coming on the market or opening up.

It’s a little odd, but the two places I’m looking at this weekend are four room houses with three guy roommates. Sandy (my mom) isn’t sure about this situation, but I’m curious. It could be a New Girl type thing, right?

Maybe there will be a Schmidt that I can hang out with/pretend he’s Tagg Romney.

